About Us

About Us

A brief history of our department.


Main campus – Vari Hall

York University is located in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. York University was founded in 1959. The main campus consists of some 600 acres at the northern edge of Metropolitan Toronto. Today with a student population of over 54,000, York University is one of Canada’s most popular universities, ranking third largest in the country. Research activities, as measured by the level of funding, the number of grants, and various awards, continue to expand at a rapid rate.

The Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science at York University has engaged in a period of sustained growth over the past 30 years, evolving from a small teaching department in the early 1980s to over 35 faculty today.

The department offers a full range of undergraduate and graduate programs in Computer Science, Computer Security, Digital Media, Electrical Engineering, Software Engineering and Computer Engineering. These include undergraduate three-year and Honours BA and BSc programs, a BASc program, three BEng programs and graduate programs leading to MSc and PhD degrees. An optional internship is available at all levels which provides students the opportunity to experience computer science in an industrial setting. The Department is part of the Lassonde School of Engineering which offers a wide range of basic and applied programs. BEng degrees are offered in Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering and Space Engineering. BSc degrees are offered in Applied Mathematics, Astronomy, Atmospheric Science, Computer Science, Conservation Ecology, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Geography, Mathematics, Pharmaceutical & Biological Chemistry, Physics, Space Science, and Statistics.